This home is located in General Butler State Resort Park. Philip Turpin married Mary Ellen Butler. Philip purchased 126 acres of land from William O. Butler, Mary Ellen’s famous uncle (for whom the Park is named), in 1859. This land was a part of the original family farm, Butler’s Grove. Philip and Mary Ellen then began to build their Greek revival home, which was completed that year. Thomas Butler, Mary Ellen’s father lived with them in the home. Mary Ellen died in 1860.
The Butler Family Cemetery is located to the east of the Butler-Turpin House. The Cemetery has recently undergone restoration. Pierce Percival Butler’s original log cabin was located north of the Cemetery. Hopes are to build a replica of the cabin on the original site.
One of the Kentucky State Park System’s finest resort parks, General Butler State Resort Park is a diamond in a wooded setting. Paying tribute to one of Kentucky’s foremost military families, the Park is the perfect blend of modern comfort and rich historic atmosphere.
Visit the Lodge, which sets on the “hilltop”. The Lodge features the warm glow of polished brass and rich woodwork, illuminated through the arched windows by the sun’s rays or from a crackling fire in the stone fireplace. Each of the 53 guest rooms feature a private balcony or patio overlooking the pool or woods. A well appointed Gift Shop offers a unique selection of Kentucky handcrafts.
The Cottage – 23 in number vary in contemporary or traditional. Each has balcony or patio. Tableware, cooking utensils and linens are provided.
The Campgrounds feature 111 campsites with utility hookups and grills. Showers, rest rooms and laundry facilities are available at two central service buildings.
The Lodge offers 176-seat dining room – with a breath-taking view of the Ohio River Valley.
The new Conference Center is perfect for both business and the social setting. Features a covered outdoor terrace, a gas fireplace, exposed wood tresses with concealed lighting and a full kitchen for banquets. The Conference Center can be separated into three sections. Seating capacities for theatre style seating is 800ppl and for banquet style seating 400ppl.
Visit and enjoy the following:
This spot located at the tallest point in Carroll County is the ideal setting to watch the sun rise and set. From this beautifully and lovingly built stone structure, built by the CCC’s during the depression, locals and visitors alike are amazed at the wonder of the Ohio River Valley.
Located at the Highway 227 entrance to General Butler State Resort Park. The Kentucky Veterans Memorial is dedicated to all Kentucky Veterans, combat and non-combat; living or deceased. Mr. John Geisler, of Carroll County, and Mr. Jim Sutherland, of Trimble County, designed the Memorial.
In honor of those who served,
In tribute of those who perished,
In gratitude to those now serving.
After six years of planning the Memorial was dedicated on July 4, 2000. The Memorial is nestled among “bricks” purchased for Veterans. Bricks will be available until the approximate 1,300 spots are filled.
This is a most striking sight in the evening. The lighting is absolutely breathtaking. The monuments among the trees are beautiful. Enjoy the hundreds of daffodils that surround the Memorial in the spring.
Richard and Sarah Masterson, two of the earlier settlers built this home in the fall of 1790. It is the first two-story brick house to be built between Louisville and Cincinnati. It is reported to be the oldest two-story brick house still standing on the Ohio River between Pittsburgh and Cairo, Illinois. Slave labor built the house out of native bricks, laid in Flemish Bond style, burned on the site. This was the first meeting-house for the Methodist Church in this area. Bishop Asbury stayed in this home during his last visit to the Kentucky frontier. The Port William Historic Society owns the house and it was restored in 1980. The house is open to the public and available for special events.
This structure built in 1880 was used as the Carroll County Jail until 1969. The two story building houses a basement used for “solitary confinement”. The first floor originally housed men inmates, the second floor housed women and children. The two stories were identical in structure. Each floor had four cells and a “pot belly” stove for heat. There were small open slits for windows without screen or glass. During the winter months, shutters were placed over the open slots used as windows to keep the elements out.
The Old Stone Jail is open for the public.
The present Courthouse was built in 1884. A brass plaque on the interior wall marks the high water level mark during the famous 1937 Flood. Coast Guard boats floated through the halls during the flood until the water became so high that they could not get their boats through the doors. In the mid 1970′s the courthouse added a third floor, an elevator and two additional wings. During the holiday season velvet ribbons and wreaths decorate the thirty two windows of the structure with additional decorations on the two balconies. Two war memorials sit in the square.
Point Park is located on land at the confluence of the Ohio and Kentucky Rivers. Point Park is owned by the City of Carrollton and available to the public with boat ramp, Gazebo and playground. The Park is fully equipped with electric, water and gas capabilities throughout the facility. It is the stage for many civic gatherings such as the Two Rivers Blues to the Point, Gospel Jubilee, occasional theatrical productions as well as landings of Riverboats.
Much of the early history of Port William centered around the Point and on Water Street (a street between Main Street and the Ohio River – completely washed away at this time). Trappers, traders paddled up and down the Kentucky and Ohio Rivers. Site of outdoor festivals.
Construction of Carrollton’s Lock #1 began in the 1830s. Lying entirely within the Commonwealth of Kentucky, the Kentucky River is formed at the confluence of its North, Middle and South Forks and drains the timber and coal-rich western slopes of the Kentucky Appalachians. The river flows in a generally northwesterly direction through a steep palisade gorge across the fertile Kentucky bluegrass and snakes through the state capital at Frankfort and empties into the Ohio River at Carrollton. The stone was laid by Irish immigrants. Joseph Barbour Company built the lock and dam. The locks are open on weekends & holidays for boat travel.
Located in Warsaw, Kentucky at mile 531.5 below Pittsburgh. The navigation locks are on the left bank or Kentucky side of the river. Construction commenced in March 1956 and was completed in April 1959. The dam was finished in the summer of 1963 complete with road to connect Indiana and Kentucky. Picnic tables, observation deck with displays.
Experience a European feel with Kentucky hospitality at River Valley Winery. Escape to the country and enjoy wines under the arbor, the vineyards, the view, the farm animals and the experience!
International award winning wines are produced with 100% Kentucky grown grapes from right there on the farm.
For more Information visit their website www.rivervalleywinery.com or call 502-750-0594
Carroll County Tourism Office
515 Highland Ave, Carrollton, KY 41008
Paid in part by the KY Department of Travel & Tourism.